How the Thai script decides a syllable’s tone, what the only officially published hour-count for Thai actually measures, why romanized Thai can never tell you the tone, the one place Thai officials genuinely test your Thai, and how the Education visa course rules are written. Sourced to the governments and standards bodies that publish them. Unbiased, never paid placement.
The U.S. State Department puts Thai in Category III at roughly 1,012 class hours — not Category IV, and not to fluency: those hours buy General Professional Proficiency, with about 748 more hours of self-study assumed alongside them. The script, not the romanization, is what carries the tone. And the one place Thai ability is genuinely tested by an official is the permanent-residence interview. Jump to the free interactive phrasebook to start today.
Last verified 28 Sep 2026 against page facts re-read that day, as recorded in the explore-depth rotation log
Thai has a reputation for being hard, and the reputation is earned in a specific and narrow way. The grammar is genuinely simple: no verb conjugation, no plurals, no tenses, no gendered nouns, broadly subject–verb–object order. Almost all of the difficulty sits in the writing system and the tones — and those two are not separate problems. They are the same problem.
The Unicode Standard’s description of the script, the technical reference every Thai keyboard and font is built against, states the mechanism plainly: Thai consonants “are divided into classes that historically represented distinct sounds, but in modern Thai indicate tonal differences”, and the tone of a syllable is then modified by the vowel signs and tone marks attached to the consonant. That is the sentence most beginner material never says out loud. The tone of a Thai syllable is not written directly. It is computed from which class the initial consonant belongs to, how the syllable ends, whether the vowel is long or short, and which of the four tone marks is present — and there are five tones but only four marks, which is exactly why the marks alone cannot be read as tones.
Three more facts from the same standard change how the script feels once you know them:
The UN romanization table for Thai enumerates 44 consonant characters and 57 vowel and special-character entries, and notes that “in Thai writing word division is not ordinarily indicated” — the absence of spaces that makes a page of Thai look impenetrable before the units start separating for you. For the starter phrase set and the polite particles, see our survival Thai companion guide; for the honest “how much do I even need?” question, see do you need to speak Thai?
Almost every article about learning Thai cites the U.S. Foreign Service Institute, and a large share of them get it wrong in the same two ways. The current page published by the U.S. Department of State’s National Foreign Affairs Training Center, last updated 21 January 2026, sets out four categories:
| Category | Published duration | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| I | 24–30 weeks (552–690 class hours) | “Languages close to English” — Spanish, French, Dutch, Portuguese, Danish and similar |
| II | approx. 36 weeks (828 class hours) | German, Haitian Creole, Indonesian, Malay, Swahili |
| III | approx. 44 weeks (1,012 class hours) | “Hard languages” — Thai, plus Russian, Vietnamese, Hindi, Khmer, Lao, Burmese, Polish, Turkish and about 35 more |
| IV | 88 weeks (2,200 class hours) | “Super-hard languages” — Arabic, Cantonese, Mandarin, Japanese, Korean only |
Correction one: Thai is Category III, not Category IV. This guide said Category IV until 28 September 2026 and it was wrong, as is most of what is written about Thai online. Category IV on the current list is the super-hard tier, it is twice as long, and it holds five languages, none of them Thai.
Correction two: 1,012 hours does not buy fluency. The State Department states exactly what the timeline is for — “an integrated score of 3 (Speaking + Listening) on the Interagency Language Roundtable (ILR) scale”. The ILR defines Speaking level 3 as General Professional Proficiency: “able to speak the language with sufficient structural accuracy and vocabulary to participate effectively in most formal and informal conversations”. Level 2, the rung below, is Limited Working Proficiency: routine social demands and limited work requirements. Neither is near-native. Near-native is level 4 and above, and the State Department publishes no timeline for it.
The third number almost nobody quotes. The same page states that “a typical week is 23 hours per week in class and 17 hours of self-study”. Forty-four weeks at 17 hours is roughly 748 hours of work outside the classroom, on top of the 1,012 inside it — call it 1,760 hours all in, full-time, with professional instructors and a class of motivated adults. It also sets a ratio worth stealing: a little more instruction than solo study. Most people learning Thai on their own invert that completely, then attribute the plateau to the language.
The State Department also notes its Category III list “is not exhaustive”, and its timelines “can vary based on several factors, including the language learner’s natural ability, prior language-learning experience, and time spent in the classroom”. Treat the number as a planning benchmark built from one institution’s records, not a law.
Only the top of this ladder has an official source. The three rungs below it are planning estimates drawn from how adult learners typically progress and are presented as such — no government publishes an hour-count for “ordering food confidently”.
Hours compound faster with daily exposure than with weekend study, and the total matters more than the calendar time it is spread across — but note that the published benchmark assumes a structured 40-hour week. A learner doing five honest hours a week is looking at years to reach the same rung, which is a scheduling fact rather than a discouraging one.
Every learner hits this and most conclude that Thai romanization is simply sloppy. It is not sloppy — it is doing something other than what you want, deliberately and by published rule, and knowing which is a genuine shortcut.
Thailand’s official system is a transcription system: it records approximately how a word sounds. It is not a transliteration system, which would record how a word is spelled. The system began as the Royal Institute’s general system, was adopted as the United Nations recommendation in 1967 by resolution I/14, was revised and officially endorsed by the government of Thailand in 2000, and that revision was approved at the Eighth United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names in Berlin in 2002 by resolution VIII/13. The UN’s own status report on it states flatly that “the romanization system is not reversible to its original script form”.
Then comes the note that explains your whole experience of Thai street signs. Adapted from Thailand’s own Principles of Romanization for Thai Script by Transcription Method, it reads: the four tone marks, the silencing mark and the vowel-shortening mark “are completely ignored”, and “in order to transcribe Thai words correctly one must know how to read and pronounce them”. The romanization is downstream of knowing the word. It was never an input.
The worked examples in that document are the most useful thing a beginner can see early:
There is a reversible standard — ISO 11940:1998 gives every Thai character a unique Latin equivalent, marks and all, so ข becomes k̄h and ฅ becomes k’h. It is built for machines round-tripping text, it is unreadable as pronunciation, and it is not what appears on Thai signage. Two systems, two jobs, neither of them the one learners want.
The practical conclusion: romanized Thai is a memory aid for words you have already heard. If you intend to stay a year or more, the script is the only representation that carries the tone, and learning to read it is the single change that most reliably fixes a stalled accent. The phrasebook further down this page is romanized for exactly the reason above — it is a starting handhold, and it is not marking tones, because the official system it follows does not.
Most reasons to learn Thai are social and practical. One is procedural, and it is documented. The Immigration Bureau’s published information sheet for residence-permit applications sets out what happens after an application is accepted: applicants are given an appointment card for an interview with immigration officers, and “the interview includes the test of the understanding of Thai language: speaking and listening”.
It is not a formality in the paperwork either. The same document lists what the Immigration Commission weighs when it decides: “income, assets, knowledge, professional expertise, relationship with a Thai citizen, national security, personality, health, the understanding of Thai language, and other appropriate conditions”. Thai ability is one of the named criteria, sitting alongside income.
The surrounding facts from the same source, because they set the timeline you would be learning against:
Read this with its date. The copy published on the Immigration Bureau’s own site is dated December 2015 and states on its face that it is a guideline for applicants and “would be subjected to change by government policies and economic conditions”. The Thai-language element of the interview is the durable part; the fees and the quota mechanics are the parts most likely to have moved. Confirm current requirements with Immigration before acting.
What this page will not tell you. Thailand’s naturalisation route carries its own language requirement, set by ministerial regulation rather than by the sheet above. BAANLYY could not obtain that regulation in an official published form, so this guide states nothing about what it requires — a gap, said plainly, rather than a number copied from a forum. If you are weighing long-stay options short of residence, our Long-Term Resident visa guide and Destination Thailand Visa guide cover routes with no language element at all.
If you want a result rather than a feeling, Thailand has a standardised test. The CU-TFL — the Chulalongkorn University Thai Proficiency Test of Thai as a Foreign Language — is designed by the university’s Sirindhorn Thai Language Institute and assesses listening, reading, writing and speaking. Candidates may sit an integrated test or take individual skills separately, and results are used both by Thai institutions for admission and by learners simply benchmarking themselves.
What the institute publishes, read on 28 September 2026:
One honest gap. The institute publishes its table of proficiency levels and descriptions only as an image on its own page. This guide does not transcribe level names from an image it cannot quote reliably — read the table at the source before you choose which skills to book.
An accredited Thai course can be the basis of a Non-Immigrant ED visa. The useful finding here is not the visa itself — it is that different Royal Thai Embassies publish materially different checklists, and a guide that gives you “the ED visa requirements” as a single list is flattening something that is not flat.
Compare two official Ministry of Foreign Affairs missions, both read on 28 September 2026:
Neither is wrong; they are each publishing their own mission’s checklist, and financial thresholds are quoted in local currency, which is why a figure copied from a third country’s embassy page is useless to you. Read the page of the mission you will actually apply through, and treat everything else — this page included — as orientation.
Two things we are not going to tell you. First, the widely repeated figure that a school must keep students above roughly 80% attendance to hold an ED visa in good standing: this guide carried that claim until 28 September 2026, and it could not be traced to any official published source, so it has been removed rather than re-sourced to another blog. Second, extension procedure inside Thailand is handled by Immigration rather than by the embassy that issued the visa, and the two publish separately. Our dedicated Education (ED) visa guide goes further on the application itself.
Bangkok has by far the largest concentration of Thai language schools and private tutors, and the widest range of course intensity and price. Chiang Mai is the strongest secondary hub, with a long-established long-stay community and a lower cost of living. Phuket and Pattaya both have options, generally smaller and more resort-oriented — worth it if you are already based there rather than a reason to relocate. The city matters less than the school.
This page names no individual school, and that is deliberate. An earlier version of this guide listed around fifteen schools by name and described them as accredited. BAANLYY had not verified the status of any of them, and a status claim about a real business that nobody checked is exactly the kind of thing this site does not publish. The names are gone until they can be verified one by one.
What replaces them is better anyway, because it is a check you can run yourself in one email. The Royal Thai Embassy in Pretoria’s ED checklist requires a copy of the school’s operating licence or business registration to be submitted with the visa application. That means any school genuinely able to support an ED visa already holds that document and can send it to you. So:
On private tutors: rates of roughly 300–600 baht an hour are commonly reported by long-stay residents in the main cities. No official body publishes tutor pricing, so read that as a reported range rather than a figure with a source behind it.
No official body evaluates or ranks Thai learning apps, so nothing in this section has a government source behind it and none of it is an endorsement. What follows is the set most commonly used by learners in Thailand, with an honest note on what each is actually for — check current pricing and feature claims with the publisher, because they change.
The limit is structural rather than a matter of which app you pick. An app can drill vocabulary and it can train your ear, but it cannot hear your tone go wrong in a real exchange and correct it, and it cannot put you in an unscripted conversation you have to finish. That is the gap section 02’s 23-to-17 ratio describes, and it is filled by a person, not a subscription.
Search or tap a category to expand it. Start here today — and read section 04 above first, so you know what the romanization is and is not telling you.
Romanization is an approximate pronunciation aid, not a formal transliteration system — tones aren’t marked. Men add krap, women add ka, to almost any phrase to sound polite.
The one figure with an official source behind it is the U.S. Department of State's. Its National Foreign Affairs Training Center places Thai in Category III — "hard languages" — at approximately 44 weeks, which it states as 1,012 class hours. Two details matter more than the number. First, those hours buy an integrated score of 3 on the Interagency Language Roundtable scale (Speaking plus Listening), which the ILR calls General Professional Proficiency — able to participate effectively in most formal and informal conversations. That is a working professional standard, not native fluency. Second, the same page says a typical week is 23 hours in class and 17 hours of self-study, so 44 weeks also implies roughly 748 hours of study outside class: about 1,760 hours in total, full-time, for a motivated adult with professional instruction. Anything less intensive takes longer in calendar time, not fewer hours.
No, and this is worth correcting because the claim is repeated everywhere. On the U.S. Department of State's current published list, Category IV is the "super-hard" tier at 88 weeks and 2,200 class hours, and it contains only Arabic, Cantonese, Mandarin, Japanese and Korean. Thai sits in Category III at approximately 44 weeks and 1,012 class hours, alongside Russian, Vietnamese, Hindi, Khmer, Lao, Burmese, Polish and about 35 others. The State Department notes that the Category III list is not exhaustive. Older category schemes and second-hand articles have shuffled these tiers over the years, which is how the Category IV claim spread; the figure to quote is the one on the current State Department page.
Because the official system was never designed to. Thailand's romanization is a transcription system, not a transliteration one, and the Thai government's own principles document — reproduced by the United Nations Group of Experts on Geographical Names — states that the four tone marks, the silencing mark and the vowel-shortening mark "are completely ignored", and that "in order to transcribe Thai words correctly one must know how to read and pronounce them". The UN report adds that the system "is not reversible to its original script form". So a romanized street sign genuinely cannot give you the tone, and cannot be converted back to Thai spelling without knowing the word. There is a reversible standard, ISO 11940:1998, but it is a transliteration for machines and is not what Thailand uses on signs. The practical conclusion for a learner: romanization is a memory aid, and the Thai script is the only thing that encodes the tone.
For permanent residence, yes, and the Immigration Bureau says so in its own published guidance. Its residence-permit information sheet states that applicants are appointed for an interview with immigration officers and that "the interview includes the test of the understanding of Thai language: speaking and listening". The same document lists "the understanding of Thai language" among the qualifications the Immigration Commission weighs when deciding an application, beside income, assets, knowledge, professional expertise, national security, personality and health. Note that the copy published on the Immigration Bureau's site is dated December 2015 and carries its own warning that it is subject to change, so confirm the current procedure with Immigration before relying on it. Thai-language requirements for naturalisation are set separately by ministerial regulation; BAANLYY has not been able to obtain that regulation in an official published form, so this page does not state what it requires.
Yes. The Sirindhorn Thai Language Institute at Chulalongkorn University runs the CU-TFL, a standardised proficiency test of Thai as a foreign language covering listening, reading, writing and speaking, which can be taken as an integrated test or skill by skill. The institute publishes a 2,100 baht fee for the speaking test, caps each speaking round at 15 candidates, and states that a test report is valid for two years from the date of issue. The listening, reading and writing components are also run with partner universities — Chiang Mai, Khon Kaen and Srinakharinwirot — under the name TH-TFL. The institute publishes its proficiency-level descriptions only as an image on its own page, so this guide does not transcribe the level names; read them at the source before booking.
Less uniformly than you would expect, which is the practical finding. The Royal Thai Embassy in Pretoria publishes a specific course rule: if the course runs no longer than 5 months, study must be at least 4 days per week and 2 hours per day; if it runs longer than 5 months, at least 5 days per week and 5 hours per day. It also requires an original letter from the school on letterhead plus a copy of the school's operating licence or business registration, and a police clearance certificate. The Royal Thai Embassy in Oslo's ED page publishes neither the course rule nor the licence requirement, stating only that a single-entry visa is valid for three months and permits a stay not exceeding 90 days. Both are official Ministry of Foreign Affairs missions. Read the page of the specific mission you will apply through, because the checklist is theirs. A widely repeated figure of roughly 80% attendance for keeping an ED visa in good standing could not be traced to any official published source, so this page does not state it as a rule.
Ask for the document the visa process already demands. The Royal Thai Embassy in Pretoria's ED checklist requires a copy of the school's operating licence or business registration to be submitted with the visa application, so a school that intends to support an ED visa must be able to hand you that copy. A school that cannot produce it is telling you something. BAANLYY has not verified the status of any individual school, and names no school on this page as approved — that is deliberate, not an omission. Ask for the licence copy, ask how many enrolled students the school currently supports on ED visas, and confirm the course meets the days-per-week and hours-per-day minimums your own embassy publishes before you pay anything.
Apps carry most people comfortably through survival Thai and into the early conversational range, especially for vocabulary, listening reps and reading the script. Beyond that they plateau, because an app cannot correct your tone in a live conversation or push you through an unscripted negotiation. The U.S. State Department's own model is instructive here: its 44-week Category III programme is built as 23 hours of classroom time against 17 hours of self-study each week — roughly 1.35 hours of instruction for every hour alone. Most self-taught learners invert that ratio and then wonder why progress stalls. A tutor, a language exchange or structured classes are what supply the missing half.
Primary, official and standards-body sources are cited above; every URL was opened and read on 28 September 2026. The Immigration Bureau document is itself dated December 2015 and states that it is subject to change. Thai government rules, fees and procedures change and are applied differently between offices and between Royal Thai Embassies — confirm current requirements with the relevant authority before relying on them. BAANLYY never takes paid placement in editorial content.
Pair your language plan with a neighbourhood where you’ll actually use it every day.
General information only — not language instruction, and not immigration or legal advice. BAANLYY is not a law firm. Study-hour figures published by the U.S. Department of State describe one institution’s full-time programme and are planning benchmarks, not guarantees; the intermediate bands in section 03 are explicitly labelled as indicative estimates with no official source. Fees, visa rules and test schedules change — verify directly with Thai Immigration, the Royal Thai Embassy you will apply through, and the school or test centre concerned. No school is named or endorsed on this page. Romanized phrases follow Thailand’s official transcription method and therefore do not mark tones. Photo via Pexels. BAANLYY never takes paid placement.